Athena’s Matchmaking Profile

When societal conventions and methods no longer support my personal needs, it’s my job as an artist, to re-define convention and create new methods of expression and outreach. Even in the dating process.

My stats:

  • Age: 39
  • Height: 5’7”
  • Body: Average/ few extra pounds
  • Politics: Liberal
  • Sign: Leo sun / Sagittarius rising
  • Children: (only fur kiddos) 1 dog, 1 cat
  • Status: Divorced
  • Location: Mid- Oregon Coast
  • Food: Carnivore
  • Religion: Woodland creature
  • Profession: Writer

About Athena

I’m a writer on the Oregon Coast. I classify as an extrovert, but I do tend to take a lot of space and solitude to do my work. I enjoy cooking, building art, creative projects, and travel (especially long road trips).

I grew up mostly in Alaska, so my appreciation of open spaces and raw nature is deeply ingrained. Alaska also gave me a deep sense of the importance of community, and social connectivity.

I enjoy travel and adventure, but I’m also content to adventure close to home and in the wilds of imagination.

I’m close with my people, tribe and network. Yet I cherish my independence and free-spirited ability to wander off the beaten path, both socially, and in terms of conventionality. Not a huge fan of boxes and societal expectations.

I’m blunt, and not afraid of conflict or honesty. Honesty is love for me, both giving and receiving.

I can be impatient, driven, and stubborn. But rather than tell you who I think I am, I’ll let my friends and family vouch for character—good and bad traits. They will be brutally honest, because they know it’s my best chance to connect with the right fit.  They know what I need more than I do, sometimes.

Creative. Compassionate. Communicative. Curious.

Hobbies and Passion

  • Writing
  • Publishing
  • Storytelling
  • Cooking
  • Polymer Sculpting
  • Photography
  • Travel
  • Whiskey Tasting

 

A note on respect:

My ability to respect a partner is directly proportionate to their personal awareness, and human interactions. How they treat me, and the people in their daily exchanges. I don’t expect chivalry, but I do expect courtesy and fairness, and acknowledgment of autonomy. I will respond in kind.

Personal History:

I’ve dated a lot in the last twelve years, but can count on my fingers the number of 4th dates I’ve gone on. Yes, I’ve been single for a very long time. Single, happy, free, and I’m reluctant to give that freedom up for anything less than something phenomenal—and if it’s the right fit, I won’t have to give it up at all, right?

With any luck, it will be the same for the right match.

Video Tour

A day in the life.

What I’m Looking For:

What I’m looking for:

Male(s) relationship, long term, dedicated and loving. Distance is a work in progress for a good match, as radius dating only tends to provide few connections of consequence and more convenience or temporary companionship without depth. I’m not tied to a conventional relationship concept, meaning; I’m also open to an MMF if the situation provides the kind of connection I’m looking for. A loving, long-term, partnership.

I will travel, will effort, and expect the same. I imagine, there are others with needs and hopes like mine that are also stretching outside their comfort radiuses. Let’s connect.

I have not listed a body type, or physical expectation because my tastes are too diverse to limit. Intelligence and awareness are sexy, good conversation is so attractive to me that, mega-tons of sexual chemistry can be summoned in one solid dinner table discussion about the nature of the Universe.

Compatibility comes in many packages and forms. It’s less about the packaging and more about the contents for me. Simply put, a man in control of his destiny, who rides through challenges with a cheeky grin and a strong sense of honor will catch my attention. He’ll keep it with his intelligence, compassion, and human awareness. Add to that a dash of chemistry, it doesn’t take much, and I could care less about the body shape, wealth, or title. Once I’m sparked, I’m in.

I strive for fairness, I do my best to provide all of the above to someone in return.

Looking for:

  • Single
  • Mentally/emotionally centered
  • Optimistic
  • Honest
  • Romantic
  • Honorable
  • Great communication dynamics (active listening/participating)

These traits are very attractive to me:

  • Fair sense of conflict resolution
  • Emotionally courageous, able to be vulnerable
  • Intelligence and curiosity
  • Strong sense of justice
  • Progressive thinker
  • Curious
  • Aligned ethical values (not morals, ethics)
  • Mental/ emotional/ physical chemistry
  • Willing equal partnership
  • Aware
  • Unconventional
  • Open-minded
  • Compassionate
  • Loves travel
  • Comfortable being alone
  • Sexually adventurous
  • Interested in personal growth and evolution
  • Strong understanding of community
  • Passionate about a job/career/hobby
  • Strong work ethic
  • Sense of humor
  • Someone who is Happy, and loves their life (this is mega sexy)

Super Bonuses for:

  • Feminist ally
  • Human rights activist
  • Creative or supporter of the arts
  • Passionate in the bedroom (sexual compatibility is important)
  • Loves to cook and dine out (food is fun!)
  • Someone who has made strides toward their personal dreams
  • Someone who is generally in a sense of wellbeing

Deal Breakers:

  • Racism
  • Violence
  • Sexism
  • Hyper-religiosity
  • Cruelty
  • Dishonesty
  • Toxic Patriarchy
  • Anger Management issues
  • Dominance/ Control Issues
  • Addictive Behaviors
  • Entitlement